Hiring Our Heroes partnership

Hiring Our Heroes partnership

Veterans, servicemembers and their spouses have been integrating into the civilian workforce in droves with the recent drawdowns, and thousands more are expected to follow in the very near future. If you’re among those making this transition, you can attend any of the complimentary hiring fairs being hosted by Hiring Our Heroes®, a nationwide initiative founded by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation in 2011 to help those in the military community find jobs.

To date, more than 27,200 veterans and military spouses have found jobs at the nearly 900 hiring fairs in all 50 states and on military installations overseas.

In support of this initiative, University of Phoenix established an annual education partnership with Hiring Our Heroes to sponsor Employment Workshops at 60 of its hiring fairs. The two-hour workshops — limited to 50 participants each — will include:

  • A variety of topics including resume building, networking, and interview tips, taking into account the job seeker's military background and lifestyle. Hiring Our Heroes digital tools are also integrated into the workshop curriculum.
  • Volunteer career coaching sessions to help attendees develop an elevator pitch, participate in a mock interview, and create a more effective resume.

Register early for the Employment Workshops. After the 50-participant limit is reached, coaching sessions will be held for walk-ins as available.

Register now for an event

Montgomery — Tuesday, July 14, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Huntsville — Tuesday, Nov. 17, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check back for more information.

Phoenix — Tuesday, Jan. 13, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Tucson — Tuesday, August 27, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Little Rock — Wednesday, August 12, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Camp Pendleton — Wednesday, Sept. 16, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Los Angeles — Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check back later for more information.

San Diego — Thursday, Oct. 1, 2015 — RSVP ›

UnCasville — Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2015 — RSVP ›

Tampa — Tuesday, April 17, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Pensacola — Thursday, May 21, 2015 @ 8:30 a.m. — RSVP ›

Miami — Thursday, Dec. 10, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check back for more information.

Jacksonville — Tuesday, September 15, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Atlanta — Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Atlanta — Thursday, May 21, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check back for unformation.

Indianapolis — Friday, Mar. 27, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Davenport — Wednesday, July 22, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Des Moines — Thursday, November 3, 2015 — Please check back for more information.

Louisville — Wednesday, March 11, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Baltimore — Tuesday, Sep. 1, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check back for more information.

Detroit — Saturday, February 7, 2015

Detroit — Monday, August 20, 2015 @ 9:00 am — RSVP ›

Lansing — Saturday, Sept. 12, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check back for more information.

St. Louis — Tuesday, April 14, 2015 @ 9:30 am — RSVP ›

Kansas City — Tuesday, April 21, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Omaha — Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2015 @ 8 am — RSVP ›

Grand Island — Wednesday, Mar. 25, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Las Vegas — Thursday, Sep. 17, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Camden — Wednesday, May 6, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Meadowlands — Saturday, June 27, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check for more information.

JB McGuire/Dix/Lakehurst — Thursday, January 15, 2015

JB McGuire/Dix/Lakehurst — Monday, June 15, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

East Rutherford — Saturday, June 27, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Albuquerque — Thursday, Jan. 28, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Buffalo — Thursday, June 18, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Farmingdale — Thursday, August 13, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

New York City — Thursday, September 10, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Fort Bragg — Wednesday, Nov. 18, 2015 — RSVP ›

Norman/Oklahoma City — Tuesday, April 7, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Salem — Wednesday, Mar. 11, 2015 — RSVP ›

Springfield — Friday, July 17, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Portland — Thursday, Nov. 19, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check back for more information.

Philadelphia — Thursday, Sep. 17, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

San Juan — Friday, June 5, 2015 — RSVP ›

Warwick — Tuesday, Oct. 20, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check back for more information.

Charleston — Thursday, Jan. 8, 2015 — RSVP ›

Greenville — Wednesday, Mar. 25, 2015 — RSVP ›

Columbia — Tuesday, June 16, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Nashville — Thursday, June 18, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Knoxville — Wednesday, October 7, 2015 @ 8:30 am — Please check back for more information.

Dallas — Wednesday, Mar. 25, 2015 @ 8:30 a.m. — RSVP ›

Houston — Friday, Mar. 6, 2015 @ 8:30 a.m. — RSVP ›

Austin — Monday, May. 11, 2015 @ 8:30 a.m. — RSVP ›

Salt Lake City — Wednesday, August 12, 2015 @ 8:30 a.m. — RSVP ›

Quantico — Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

Norfolk — Friday, Apr. 17, 2015 @ 8:30 a.m. — RSVP ›

Richmond — Thursday, May 7, 2015 @ 8:30 a.m. — RSVP ›

JBLM — Tuesday, Sep. 22, 2015 @ 8:30 am — RSVP ›

JB Anacostia Bolling — Thursday, Nov. 12, 2015 — RSVP ›

Hiring Our Heroes is a registered trademark of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.
The use of the phrase education partner or education partnership is for marketing purposes only and is not intended to create a legal partnership.

Phoenix Career Services™

See how our planning tools give you a head start in meeting your career goals.
Learn more ›

Supporting our military students

Learn how University of Phoenix supports our students in uniform through our Military Division.