Below are the steps necessary to apply for licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist (MFT) after graduating with a Master of Science/Marriage, Family and Child Therapy (MSC/MFCT) degree at University of Phoenix. California has two levels of licensing: Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) and Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (AMFT) For additional information see the California Board of Behavioral Sciences Website.
To become a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) or an Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (AMFT) you will need to take and pass the California Law and Ethics Exam and then take and pass the Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy Clinical Exam.
After you have earned 3,000 hours and your hours are approved, apply for the LMFT California Clinical Exam.
Applicants should review information about the 90 Day Rule which allows applicants who graduated after January 1, 2020 to count supervised experience between the degree award date and issue date of the Associate registration number under the rule if the workplace required the applicant to complete Live Scan fingerprinting.
After registering as an associate (AMFT), pre- and post-graduate clinical experience must be completed under supervision as follows:
You may apply for licensure after all the above requirements have been met. These requirements include but are not limited to obtaining 3,000 hours of experience, and after required examinations have been passed. All applications have a fee that is to be sent with completed application to the Board office. Applications must be sent electronically or mailed in a sealed envelope.
California Board of Behavioral Sciences
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200
Sacramento, CA 95834
Phone: (916) 574-7830
Toll free: (800) 326-2297
This summary of state licensure requirements is provided as a reference tool for our counseling students and graduates. Every effort is made to ensure this information is accurate and up to date. However, as licensing requirements are subject to change at any time, you are strongly encouraged to regularly check with the state licensing authority (provided above) for licensure requirements.